Recording Fees

Community Preservation Act Fee Increase

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Fiscal Year 2020 budget included a provision aimed at increasing funds available to towns and cities through the Community Preservation Act (CPA). The new fee schedule is shown in the table below.


Recording fees are now the same whether you own Recorded Land or Registered Land. Most property is Recorded Land. If the document you wish to record refers to a “Book and Page” number, you probably have Recorded Land. If your document refers to a “Certificate of Title” number, you probably have Registered Land.

Please Note:

  • The Registry accepts only cash or checks for recording transactions
  • Please make all checks payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Telephone numbers and addresses must be on all checks
  • Document recording fees must be in the exact amount and total due should be paid with check or cash
  • Identification may be required
Document Fee
Declaration of Homestead $35
Declaration of Trust $255
Deed $155
Mortgage $205
Mortgage Foreclosure Deed & Affidavit $155
Mortgage Discharge, Release or Partial Release $105
Municipal Lien Certificate $80
UCC Documents (up to 2 debtors) $75
Federal Tax Liens (and related documents) $5
Plans (per sheet) $105
All other documents $105
Certified Copies (per page) $1

Fees include all applicable surcharges.

Excise Calculator

The effective tax rate is $2.28 per $500 of taxable value. There is no excise tax due where the consideration stated is less than $100.00.

Consideration of Deed:

Total Excise to Add:

Hablas Español?

Vision Impaired Assistance

This website has been created to facilitate use by vision impaired persons. It is Screen reader friendly, Uses contrasting colors where possible, Employs colored actions prompts and is equipped with a text enlarger and contrast color changer.

Accessibility Toolbar


Worcester Registry of Deeds
90 Front St
Worcester, MA 01608