Massachusetts Legal Holidays

Holiday

2019

2020

2021

New Years Day – January first Jan. 1, Tues. Jan. 1, Wed. Jan. 1, Fri.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day– Third Monday in January Jan. 21, Mon. Jan. 20, Mon. Jan. 18, Mon.
Washington’s Birthday – Third Monday in February Feb. 18, Mon. Feb. 17, Mon. Feb. 15, Mon.
Patriot’s Day – Third Monday in April Apr. 15, Mon. Apr. 20, Mon. Apr. 19, Mon.
Memorial Day – Last Monday in May May 27, Mon.**(1A) May 25, Mon.**(1A) May 31, Mon.**(1A)
Independence Day – July 4th July 4, Thurs.** July 4, Sat.**(3) July 4, Sun.**(3)
Labor Day – First Monday in September* Sept. 2, Mon.** Sept. 7, Mon.** Sept. 6, Mon.**
Columbus Day – Second Monday in October Oct. 14, Mon.*(2) Oct. 12, Mon.*(2) Oct. 11, Mon.*(2)
Veterans Day – November 11th* Nov. 11, Mon.*(2) Nov. 11, Wed.*(2) Nov. 11, Thu.*(2)
Thanksgiving Day – Customarily the fourth Thursday in November* (1) Nov. 28, Thurs.*(1) Nov. 26, Thurs.*(1) Nov. 25, Thurs.*(1)
Christmas Day – December 25th Dec. 25, Wed.*(1) Dec. 25, Fri.*(1) Dec. 25, Sat.*(1)

* – Full restrictions apply for ALL commerce

** – Restrictions apply except to retail

(1) Liquor Stores must be closed for Thanksgiving and Christmas Days.

(1A) Liquor stores may not open prior to 12:00 noon Memorial Day.

(2) Many companies operate all day on these holidays, pending obtaining a local permit.

(3) All holidays falling on Sunday must be observed on Monday, under state law. Saturday holidays are observed on Saturday.

Above is a list of all legal holidays observed in Massachusetts. State, county, and municipal offices are closed on the days listed above. Federal offices are only closed on holidays which the federal government recognizes (i.e. New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Washington’s Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans’ Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas). The term “federal holiday” is not applicable to individual states and the private sector since each state has jurisdiction over its holidays.

For further information on holiday laws, contact: Citizen Information Service.

Download the Holiday List

Hablas Espanol?

Address:

Middlesex South Registry of Deeds
208 Cambridge Street, PO Box 68
Cambridge, MA 02141
Main Number: 617-679-6300

Accessibility Toolbar:

Vision Impaired Assistance:

This website has been created to facilitate use by vision impaired persons. It is Screen reader friendly, Uses contrasting colors where possible, Employs colored actions prompts and is equipped with a text enlarger and contrast color changer.

Translate »